Parliament Website

Local Bus Services

EDM number 1986 in 2010-12, proposed by Bob Russell on 23/06/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Buses and Roads.

That this House recognises that two thirds of public transport journeys are made by bus; believes that buses play a vital role in society, linking people to work, education, shops and services, keeping the elderly self-sufficient, supporting local economies and offering an immediate lower carbon alternative to car use; notes that hundreds of local authority supported bus services deemed socially necessary are being withdrawn; is concerned that the decision to reduce the Bus Service Operators Grant by 20 per cent. from 2012 will further damage the bus network and undermine Government objectives to tackle unemployment and promote equal opportunities and social mobility, particularly in rural areas; and calls on the Government to ensure buses receive the funding and support that they need to play their part in keeping the country mobile and on the road to recovery.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Bob Russell23/06/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Ian Mearns23/06/2011GatesheadLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McDonnell23/06/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Tony Cunningham27/06/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/06/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/06/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma28/06/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Martin Caton28/06/2011GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale28/06/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner28/06/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
David Simpson28/06/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd29/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas29/06/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
William McCrea29/06/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Annette Brooke29/06/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell29/06/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/06/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer29/06/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon29/06/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop29/06/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds30/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mark Williams30/06/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech30/06/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart04/07/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Huppert04/07/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Tessa Munt04/07/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham05/07/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Katy Clark05/07/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy05/07/2011WiganLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham05/07/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/07/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Davidson11/07/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Ian Swales13/07/2011RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan13/07/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Roger Williams14/07/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson11/08/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton11/08/2011Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin11/08/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Dan Jarvis11/08/2011Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew George05/09/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith05/09/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield09/09/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley30/04/2012York CentralLabourSigned
David Anderson30/04/2012BlaydonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.