Parliament Website

Train Manufacture In The UK

EDM number 2059 in 2010-12, proposed by Chris Williamson on 11/07/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Manufacturing industries and Railways.

That this House notes the commitment given by the Prime Minister in Derby earlier in 2011 that his administration would support local manufacturing jobs; is therefore dismayed and appalled at the implications for UK manufacturing of the Government's decision to make Siemens of Germany the preferred bidder for the 1.4 billion Thameslink rolling stock contract and to reject the bid from Bombardier of Derby; is alarmed that this decision has already led to the announcement of over 1,400 job losses at Bombardier and also threatens at least a further 12,000 jobs in the UK supply chain; is further concerned that the decision could adversely impact on the prospect of a UK-based train manufacturer bidding to supply trains for Crossrail or for high speed rail; supports Bombardier's rejection of the Department for Transport's claim that jobs at the company were under threat irrespective of the destination of the Thameslink contract; acknowledges that EU competition law has not dissuaded the German or French administration from awarding 100 per cent. of their lucrative domestic rail contracts to domestic bidders; further notes that the contract is still at preferred bidder stage; and calls on the Governmentimmediately to review this decision to take into account the value for money implications of the loss of tens of thousands of UK jobs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 70 MPs.

Chris Williamson11/07/2011Derby NorthLabourProposed
Bob Russell11/07/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Dobbin12/07/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale12/07/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Andrew Gwynne12/07/2011Denton and ReddishLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner12/07/2011BolsoverLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/07/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/07/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew George12/07/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice12/07/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/07/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Ashworth13/07/2011Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram13/07/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/07/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/07/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/07/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2011GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/07/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson13/07/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan14/07/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Kevin Barron14/07/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
John Mann14/07/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd14/07/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes18/07/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
David Crausby18/07/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham18/07/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin18/07/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Grahame Morris18/07/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Richard Burden19/07/2011Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Frank Doran19/07/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley19/07/2011York CentralLabourSigned
Katy Clark19/07/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz19/07/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi20/07/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield20/07/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock11/08/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Bill Esterson11/08/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham11/08/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy11/08/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jim McGovern11/08/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Natascha Engel11/08/2011North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly11/08/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Toby Perkins06/09/2011ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore06/09/2011Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Dai Havard07/09/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson07/09/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Frank Field07/09/2011BirkenheadLabourSigned
Nick Smith07/09/2011Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Dan Jarvis07/09/2011Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kate Green08/09/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Dave Watts08/09/2011St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Miller08/09/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Harriet Harman14/09/2011Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
William McCrea15/09/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Chris Ruane10/10/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma10/10/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Marsha Singh11/10/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson11/10/2011Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Jessica Morden17/10/2011Newport EastLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert19/10/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff20/10/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
William Cash10/11/2011StoneConservativeSigned
Tom Clarke14/11/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt22/11/2011Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
David Blunkett25/11/2011Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Michael Meacher06/12/2011Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Brian Binley14/12/2011Northampton SouthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.