Parliament Website

World Veterinary Year 2011

EDM number 2122 in 2010-12, proposed by Neil Parish on 11/08/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Animal diseases and Animal welfare.

That this House notes that 2011 is World Veterinary Year, marking the 250th anniversary of the establishment of the world's first veterinary school; recognises the key role of veterinarians in a changing world where issues of public health, animal health and welfare and global food security are increasingly important; further recognises the important role of veterinary surgeons in communities across the UK; further notes the role of the British Veterinary Association as the voice of the veterinary profession and the role of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons in setting veterinary standards in the UK; and calls on the Government to support the goals and principles of World Veterinary Year and to deliver policies which complement the existing work of practitioners and enable and inspire future generations of veterinary students.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Neil Parish11/08/2011Tiverton and HonitonConservativeProposed
Jim Dowd11/08/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Andrew George11/08/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Miller11/08/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSeconded
Andrew Rosindell11/08/2011RomfordConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/08/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jimmy Hood05/09/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/09/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby05/09/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan05/09/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock05/09/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Huppert05/09/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale06/09/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/09/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson06/09/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders06/09/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea06/09/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Lady Hermon07/09/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Albert Owen07/09/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/09/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jim McGovern07/09/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Andrew Griffiths07/09/2011BurtonConservativeSigned
Mary Creagh08/09/2011WakefieldLabourSigned
John Leech09/09/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Williams12/09/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/09/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr13/10/2011North AntrimDUPSigned
Naomi Long18/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Anne McGuire19/10/2011StirlingLabourSigned
John Thurso19/10/2011Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Lewis31/10/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.