Parliament Website

Closure Of The Forensic Science Service

EDM number 2206 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 10/10/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House is concerned about the implications for the criminal justice system of the closure of the Forensic Science Service; notes warnings from the Metropolitan Police and the Forensic Institute that the closure may lead to expert scientists and case files being unavailable for court hearings; further notes that the Forensic Science Service estimates that around 90 per cent. of the staff who have already been made redundant have left the forensic profession completely; and calls on the Government to recognise the value of the scientific expertise, research and development carried out by the Forensic Science Service and to rethink the closure in order to safeguard the informed and effective course of justice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Valerie Vaz10/10/2011Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Graham Stringer11/10/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Katy Clark11/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin11/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn11/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Lady Hermon11/10/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock12/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson12/10/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
John Pugh13/10/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson13/10/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham17/10/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea18/10/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Lavery18/10/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
David Anderson18/10/2011BlaydonLabourSigned
David Crausby18/10/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Murphy18/10/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John Thurso19/10/2011Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy19/10/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock20/10/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Mike Gapes20/10/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Richard Burden21/10/2011Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Mike Wood21/10/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
George Howarth24/10/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis25/10/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty31/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds02/11/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Julian Huppert14/11/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.