Parliament Website

Israel's Treatment Of Palestinian Prisoners

EDM number 2225 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Connarty on 11/10/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House condemns the imprisonment of Israeli soldier Gilad Shalit by Hamas, but is appalled by the cruel and inhumane treatment suffered by the 7,000 Palestinians incarcerated in Israeli prisons, involving denial of medicines and basic healthcare, denial of education and reading materials, refusal of family visits, excessive fines, repeated night searches of cells and the long-term isolation of elected members of the Palestinian legislative council; believes that Israel's practice of holding Palestinians for unspecified periods of time without charge, including children, journalists and 21 Palestinian MPs is unacceptable; further believes that all this amounts to the collective punishment of Palestinian prisoners for the imprisonment of soldier Shalit; and calls on the Government to increase pressure on Israel to end its immoral and uncivilised treatment of prisoners.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Michael Connarty11/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn11/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams11/10/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Lindsay Roy11/10/2011GlenrothesLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew Love11/10/2011EdmontonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark11/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar11/10/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew George11/10/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan11/10/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gerald Kaufman11/10/2011Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Bob Russell11/10/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Roy11/10/2011Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie12/10/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock12/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards12/10/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell13/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/10/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim McGovern17/10/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Richard Burden18/10/2011Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Ian Lavery18/10/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
David Crausby18/10/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Anderson18/10/2011BlaydonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Gilbert24/10/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis25/10/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Williams26/10/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock31/10/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Don Foster31/10/2011BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Meacher01/11/2011Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Mike Wood07/11/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice07/11/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi08/11/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson09/11/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell10/11/2011North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood14/11/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Tom Clarke14/11/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Julian Huppert14/11/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman21/11/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Roger Williams21/11/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas23/11/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Hemming28/11/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham05/12/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.