Parliament Website

Nobel Peace Prize

EDM number 2240 in 2010-12, proposed by Keith Vaz on 12/10/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Equality.

That this House congratulates Tawakul Karman, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee as worthy and deserving joint recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize 2011; notes that in receiving this award they draw attention not only to their individual causes but the wider fight against global gender inequality; further notesthat these laureates' championing of democracy and women's rights should serve as a reminder that the international community should not act with complacency towards oppressed peoples; and applauds in particular Tawakul Karman and the peaceful nature of her fight for democracy in Yemen, her tireless campaigning to address both social and gender inequality and her courageous role as chairwoman of Women Journalists Without Chains that seeks to defend freedom of expression everywhere.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Keith Vaz12/10/2011Leicester EastLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley12/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George12/10/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Flynn13/10/2011Newport WestLabourSeconded
John McDonnell13/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins13/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
John Pugh13/10/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock17/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan17/10/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin17/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Naomi Long18/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Martin Caton18/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma18/10/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon19/10/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Katy Clark19/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie20/10/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Gapes20/10/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham22/11/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.