Parliament Website

Cluster Munitions

EDM number 2381 in 2010-12, proposed by Martin Caton on 07/11/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Arms control.

That this House recalls the historic agreement reached in Dublin on 28 May 2008 creating the international convention prohibiting the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of all cluster munitions, which has now been signed by 111 states; celebrates the role of the UK in achieving the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) at that time; commends the important work the UK has undertaken to promote universal adherence to the CCM; recognises that the international norm being established by the CCM provides a powerful disincentive against the use of cluster munitions even by non-signatories; acknowledges that these weapons have killed and maimed many non-combatants in and after conflicts around the world; further recognises that some nations holding large numbers of cluster weapons still have not joined the CCM; is alarmed at the attempt by the US and others to use the United Nations Convention on certain Conventional Weapons to negotiate a new protocol on cluster munitions that would ban some older weapons but allow, indefinitely, some of the worst offenders including the BLU 97 that caused such carnage in Serbia and Kosovo in 1999 and 2000, in Afghanistan in 2001 and 2002 and in Iraq in 2003; andurges the British Government to use its influence to resist this new protocol and encourage other nations to endorse the CCM.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Martin Caton07/11/2011GowerLabourProposed
Caroline Lucas07/11/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Peter Bottomley07/11/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock07/11/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell07/11/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/11/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Bob Russell08/11/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd08/11/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/11/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/11/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Angus MacNeil08/11/2011Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards08/11/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir09/11/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Greg Mulholland09/11/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George09/11/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long09/11/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/11/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell09/11/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Leech10/11/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon14/11/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham14/11/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/11/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt15/11/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin15/11/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Cryer15/11/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Katy Clark21/11/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield21/11/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar21/11/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby22/11/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/11/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff22/11/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ann McKechin23/11/2011Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams29/11/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jessica Morden29/11/2011Newport EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.