Parliament Website

Occupational Therapy - Making A Difference Campaign

EDM number 2385 in 2010-12, proposed by Nick Smith on 07/11/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Health education and preventive medicine and Health services.

That this House supports Occupational Therapy Week focusing on the theme Occupational Therapy - Making a Difference, which runs from 7 to 13 November 2011, organised by the British Association and College of Occupational Therapists; congratulates occupational therapists employed in the Health Service, social care and across communities for their dedicated and vital work to aid the effective recovery of patients and allow them to recover ordinary lives; recognises that occupational therapists work in many spheres including those of children, young people and families, HIV/AIDS, oncology, palliative care, housing, mental health, neurological practice, older people, people with learning disabilities, rheumatology, and trauma and orthopaedics using the knowledge that occupation is essential to human existence and good health and well-being; urges the Government to continue to recognises that occupational therapists are a significant section of the NHS clinical and social care workforce; further urges the Government to promote this work through the Health and Social Care Bill, giving occupational therapists representation at all levels of decision-making; and recommends that all hon. Members visit an occupational therapy service in their local area to see the important work that is being done.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Nick Smith07/11/2011Blaenau GwentLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley07/11/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock07/11/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell07/11/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George07/11/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell07/11/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Yasmin Qureshi08/11/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/11/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/11/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/11/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd08/11/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jim Shannon08/11/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
John Pugh09/11/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/11/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson09/11/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Dai Havard09/11/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long09/11/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Mike Gapes09/11/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Tredinnick09/11/2011BosworthConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke10/11/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz10/11/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey10/11/2011West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/11/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Menzies Campbell10/11/2011North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann10/11/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/11/2011GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Miller14/11/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/11/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Clive Betts14/11/2011Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy14/11/2011WiganLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice14/11/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Louise Ellman15/11/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/11/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/11/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt15/11/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas15/11/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Joan Ruddock15/11/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Roger Williams21/11/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris21/11/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Frank Doran22/11/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff22/11/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Frank Dobson23/11/2011Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy23/11/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.