Parliament Website

Local Radio Licences

EDM number 2669 in 2010-12, proposed by David Morris on 31/01/2012.

That this House notes that the BBC Trust has encouraged the BBC management to re-think its restructuring plans for local radio; congratulates Lord Patten for his courage in opposing the changes; urges Ofcom to review local commercial radio given that the Guardian Media Group has recently made redundant many high quality news staff; further notes many of the so-called local radio stations are now in fact local transmitters for national radio shows, something that the now defunct Radio Authority would not have allowed; and calls on the Government to ensure that public sector and commercial private sector broadcasters keep the making of their programmes local as promised in their licence applications.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

David Morris31/01/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeProposed
David Simpson01/02/2012Upper BannDUPSeconded
William McCrea01/02/2012South AntrimDUPSeconded
Mike Hancock01/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/02/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Gregory Campbell01/02/2012East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/02/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/02/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson02/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/02/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin06/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell07/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer07/02/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John Leech07/02/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon08/02/2012North DownIndependentSigned
David Crausby08/02/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas23/02/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Hemming28/02/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.