Parliament Website

Aid To Victims Of Conflict In Burma

EDM number 2719 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 08/02/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Asia.

That this House welcomes the continued increase in UK aid to Burma and the visit to Burma in 2011 by the Secretary of State for International Development; further welcomes political reforms made by the government of Burma; is, however, deeply concerned that the number of people displaced last year in that country by conflict and human rights abuses doubled to almost 150,000; is alarmed that the government of Burma is continuing to block humanitarian aid to hundreds of thousands of people in conflict zones; calls on the British Government to increase aid to populations displaced by conflict, including significant increases in cross-border aid which can be the only way to access large numbers of displaced people; expresses deep concern that refugees in camps in neighbouring Thailand who have fled conflict are facing cuts in rations of 22 per cent. which could cause increased malnutrition in children; looks forward to free and fair elections with the participation of Aung San Suu Kyi and her party; and calls on the Government to significantly increase funding for Burma to support food and shelter for refugees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 66 MPs.

Valerie Vaz08/02/2012Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Andrew George08/02/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson08/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn08/02/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams20/02/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock20/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/02/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Bottomley20/02/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Angus MacNeil20/02/2012Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell21/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson21/02/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech21/02/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn21/02/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale21/02/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Lady Hermon21/02/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Shannon21/02/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd23/02/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Michael Crockart23/02/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy23/02/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/02/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell23/02/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
William McCrea23/02/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/02/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Dai Havard27/02/2012Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Edward Leigh27/02/2012GainsboroughConservativeSigned
David Crausby28/02/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Robert Walter28/02/2012North DorsetConservativeSigned
Joan Walley29/02/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake05/03/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Heidi Alexander06/03/2012Lewisham EastLabourSigned
David Wright06/03/2012TelfordLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman06/03/2012Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Alan Beith07/03/2012Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams07/03/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz08/03/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Jim Dowd08/03/2012Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore08/03/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert08/03/2012St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg09/03/2012Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Julian Huppert09/03/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood09/03/2012CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark09/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Gordon Banks09/03/2012Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Mike Wood09/03/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
David Blunkett09/03/2012Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Robert Smith09/03/2012West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock09/03/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Ian Mearns12/03/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Michael Weir12/03/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Gary Streeter12/03/2012South West DevonConservativeSigned
Don Foster12/03/2012BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice13/03/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd13/03/2012EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell13/03/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tim Farron22/03/2012Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell26/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Cruddas26/03/2012Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Simon Wright26/03/2012Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran27/03/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Robertson16/04/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Jo Swinson16/04/2012East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Robin Walker16/04/2012WorcesterConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey30/04/2012VauxhallLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.