Parliament Website

Vitamin D

EDM number 2763 in 2010-12, proposed by Yasmin Qureshi on 23/02/2012.

That this House notes and approves the position of the Chief Medical Officers of the UK in highlighting population groups who are at risk of vitamin D deficiency; supports their work in relation to educating and informing medical professionals on the importance of vitamin D in public health for certain population groups; furthersupports their call for more widespread and consistent advice from all health professionals on the use of supplementation to ensure sufficiency; welcomes their reminder that primary care trusts, local health trusts and health boards have a statutory responsibility to make healthy start vitamins available locally to all women and children; further notes the concerns raised by health professionals, the voluntary sector and industry that the Government's Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition (SACN) will not be reporting on appropriate levels for supplementation for at least another two to three years; and callson the Government to request a more speedy conclusion to SACN's work to enable health professionals to access up-to-date guidance on dosage for all patients, including the at-risk population and to facilitate industry manufacture of appropriate products for the purpose of reducing vitamin D deficiency in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Yasmin Qureshi23/02/2012Bolton South EastLabourProposed
David Simpson27/02/2012Upper BannDUPSeconded
Glenda Jackson27/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn27/02/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin27/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer27/02/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale27/02/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
David Crausby28/02/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stephen Williams28/02/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton28/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell28/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea28/02/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd28/02/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jim Shannon28/02/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/02/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell29/02/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds29/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Dan Rogerson29/02/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh01/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie01/03/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon01/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley13/03/2012HoveConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.