Parliament Website

Cost Of Tours To The Big Ben Clock Tower

EDM number 2781 in 2010-12, proposed by Robert Halfon on 27/02/2012.

That this House regrets the plans of the House of Commons Commission to create an admission charge of 15.00 for Big Ben tours; notes that if fees increase in July 2012 as planned, it will cost a family of four 60 to visit the Big Ben Clock Tower; believes that this undermines the basic principle of British democracy, that this is a people's parliament, open freely to its citizens; further believes there must surely be other ways of saving money, such as publishing Hansard and business papers online; and therefore urges the House of Commons Commission to think again, to scrap the fees and to make sure that this remains a parliament for the many, not the few.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Robert Halfon27/02/2012HarlowConservativeProposed
John McDonnell28/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale28/02/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton28/02/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin28/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/02/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Tony Lloyd28/02/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram29/02/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns29/02/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Stewart Jackson29/02/2012PeterboroughConservativeSigned
Hugh Bayley29/02/2012York CentralLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds29/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell29/02/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn29/02/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Jim Shannon29/02/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Russell29/02/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner01/03/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George01/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Vickers05/03/2012CleethorpesConservativeSigned
David Simpson06/03/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
William McCrea07/03/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Michael Crockart08/03/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell13/03/2012RomfordConservativeSigned
Katy Clark13/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/03/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.