Parliament Website

Shahbaz Bhatti And Religious Freedom

EDM number 2807 in 2010-12, proposed by Andrew Stephenson on 01/03/2012.

That this House marks the first anniversary of the murder of Shahbaz Bhatti, Pakistani Federal Minister for Minorities, on 2 March 2011; supports the international human rights of freedom of religion and freedom of speech in cases of accusations of blasphemy; notes that it is a violation of international human rights to imprison or put to death any person, such as Asia Bibi in Pakistan, for an alleged crime of blasphemy; further notes that Articles 18 and 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights acknowledge the rights of freedom of religion and freedom of speech; considers that recognition of a crime of blasphemy offends the basic human rights of freedom of religion and speech; believes that all governments have a duty to protect their citizens from violent religious extremists and, indeed, to protect their own officials who support freedom of religion, such as the assassinated Pakistani State Governor Salman Taseer and Federal Minister for Minorities Shahbaz Bhatti; urges that all persons imprisoned for blasphemy anywhere in the world be immediately released and protected from extremist retribution; further notes that the UK gives significant aid to nations such as Pakistan where many minority communities suffer injustice under the blasphemy laws; and calls on the Government to ensure that such aid is not used indiscriminately to perpetuate the resultant inequality, and in particular that it does not facilitate educational material and teaching that denigrates and slanders minority religions and communities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Andrew Stephenson01/03/2012PendleConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley01/03/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan05/03/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock05/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton06/03/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin06/03/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Bob Russell06/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell06/03/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie07/03/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George07/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/03/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd13/03/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce15/03/2012CongletonConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Leigh20/03/2012GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier22/03/2012CanterburyConservativeSigned
Tom Brake16/04/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Henderson16/04/2012Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.