Parliament Website

Northern Rail Hub

EDM number 2836 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 07/03/2012.

That this House welcomes the growth in rail patronage experienced over the last 10 years and recognises that this has led to a busier network such that there is now a severe lack of capacity in many areas; notes that this lack of capacity is particularly critical across the north of England; further notes that Network Rail has developed the Northern Hub, a scheme to radically improve capacity across the North and stimulate economic growth by allowing for an additional 700 trains a day to travel, generating 4 billion of benefits to the northern economy and delivering 20,000 to 30,000 extra jobs; is mindful of the benefit cost ratio of the scheme of 4:1 which is exceptional for a scheme of this magnitude; recognises the widespread support the scheme enjoys across the North from representatives of all political parties, the public as well as businesses; and urges the Government to realise the full benefits of the scheme by committing to the delivery of all its constituent parts in full in the period 2014 to 2019.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Jim Dobbin07/03/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Tony Lloyd07/03/2012Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
David Crausby07/03/2012Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Joe Benton07/03/2012BootleLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer07/03/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/03/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
John Pugh08/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley08/03/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gordon Marsden09/03/2012Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns09/03/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Clive Betts09/03/2012Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell09/03/2012Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
George Howarth09/03/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Heyes12/03/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
David Simpson12/03/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
John Leech13/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Goggins13/03/2012Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Graham Brady13/03/2012Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Craig Whittaker13/03/2012Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
William McCrea14/03/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/03/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Stuart Andrew14/03/2012PudseyConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland15/03/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan20/03/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Simon Reevell20/03/2012DewsburyConservativeSigned
Paul Blomfield27/03/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward27/03/2012St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Michael Meacher16/04/2012Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Maria Eagle16/04/2012Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley16/04/2012York CentralLabourSigned
David Ward16/04/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Lisa Nandy16/04/2012WiganLabourSigned
Julian Sturdy18/04/2012York OuterConservativeSigned
Ann Coffey19/04/2012StockportLabourSigned
David Mowat19/04/2012Warrington SouthConservativeSigned
Hazel Blears23/04/2012Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
David Anderson23/04/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue23/04/2012MakerfieldLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman26/04/2012Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Denis MacShane26/04/2012RotherhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.