Parliament Website

The Elizabeth Tower: A Diamond Jubilee Tribute To Her Majesty The Queen

EDM number 2915 in 2010-12, proposed by Tobias Ellwood on 22/03/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Crown.

That this House expresses its profound gratitude to Her Majesty The Queen for her dedication to a life of public service; pays tribute to the energy, wisdom and grace with which she carries out her many public duties; welcomes the opportunities over the coming months that the nation will have to celebrate her Diamond Jubilee - a landmark that of the 41 monarchs who have reigned England and the UK since William the Conqueror -only Her Majesty and Queen Victoria have observed; notes that the west tower of the Palace of Westminster was originally called The King's Tower; further notes that when the Palace of Westminster was rebuilt in 1860, it was renamed the Victoria Tower, to commemorate the long reign of Queen Victoria; proudly recalls Her Majesty's tribute to Parliament in her Address to both Houses as `an unshakeable cornerstone of our constitution and our way of life'; signals its desire to honour Her Majesty's commitment to democracy in Britain and the Commonwealth; and therefore calls on the House of Commons Commission to consider proposals to rename the Palace of Westminster's east tower holding the Big Ben clock the Elizabeth Tower, in recognition of Her Majesty's 60 years of unbroken public service on behalf of her country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Tobias Ellwood22/03/2012Bournemouth EastConservativeProposed
Malcolm Rifkind22/03/2012KensingtonConservativeSeconded
Nicholas Soames22/03/2012Mid SussexConservativeSeconded
Richard Ottaway22/03/2012Croydon SouthConservativeSeconded
Alan Beith22/03/2012Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jack Straw22/03/2012BlackburnLabourSeconded
Bob Blackman22/03/2012Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Christopher Pincher22/03/2012TamworthConservativeSigned
Jacob Rees-Mogg22/03/2012North East SomersetConservativeSigned
Eric Ollerenshaw22/03/2012Lancaster and FleetwoodConservativeSigned
Pauline Latham22/03/2012Mid DerbyshireConservativeSigned
Andrea Leadsom22/03/2012South NorthamptonshireConservativeSigned
Stephen Metcalfe22/03/2012South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSigned
Sam Gyimah22/03/2012East SurreyConservativeSigned
Andrew Griffiths22/03/2012BurtonConservativeSigned
Bob Stewart22/03/2012BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey22/03/2012VauxhallLabourSigned
Graham Brady22/03/2012Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
David Evennett22/03/2012Signed
Peter Bottomley22/03/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Desmond Swayne22/03/2012New Forest WestConservativeSigned
John Whittingdale22/03/2012MaldonConservativeSigned
Angie Bray22/03/2012Ealing Central and ActonConservativeSigned
Therese Coffey23/03/2012Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Dai Havard26/03/2012Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Seema Malhotra27/03/2012Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
David Morris27/03/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Karl McCartney27/03/2012LincolnConservativeSigned
Stuart Andrew27/03/2012PudseyConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz27/03/2012Leicester EastLabourSigned
Simon Hughes27/03/2012Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Penny Mordaunt16/04/2012Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Robin Walker16/04/2012WorcesterConservativeSigned
Jo Swinson16/04/2012East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster16/04/2012BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Eleanor Laing16/04/2012Epping ForestConservativeSigned
David Amess17/04/2012Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/04/2012Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr19/04/2012North AntrimDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.