Parliament Website

Violence Against The Nuba People

EDM number 2941 in 2010-12, proposed by Mike Hancock on 16/04/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Crimes of violence, Ethnic groups, International development and International politics and government.

That this House condemns the continued violenceagainst the people of the Nuba Mountains by the Sudanese government; is concerned over the continuation of military offensives in the region, the denial of access for humanitarian aid and journalists and the killing of citizens directly through bombing campaigns; considers the death of many others because of lack of access to medical care, malnutrition, dehydration and displacement as deplorable; and urges the Government to act urgently to increase pressure on the Sudanese government to halt violence against its own people and to allow accessfor foreign aid to bring an end to these gross violations of human rights.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Mike Hancock16/04/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Kelvin Hopkins16/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan16/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Wood16/04/2012Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Katy Clark16/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon17/04/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson17/04/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Lady Hermon17/04/2012North DownIndependentSigned
John McDonnell17/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/04/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew George17/04/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards17/04/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer18/04/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea18/04/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/04/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bob Russell19/04/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/04/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/04/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech19/04/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Duncan Hames19/04/2012ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long24/04/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock25/04/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander30/04/2012Lewisham EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.