Parliament Website

Composition Of The Backbench Committee

EDM number 302 in 2010-12, proposed by Angus MacNeil on 23/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of House of Commons and Parliamentary procedure.

That this House notes that the Backbench Committee in effect resembles a three party committee as backbench members outwith the three largest parties cannot stand for membership of the committee; and calls on the Government to bring forward proposals to ensure that no members are excluded from participation and that no members are less equal than others.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Angus MacNeil23/06/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartyProposed
Mark Durkan23/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley23/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew George23/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders24/06/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jonathan Edwards24/06/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin24/06/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Pugh24/06/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Love28/06/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
John Hemming28/06/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech28/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock29/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson29/06/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Martin Caton29/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell29/06/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/06/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea29/06/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie29/06/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson30/06/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Naomi Long30/06/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Nigel Dodds30/06/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Katy Clark30/06/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland01/07/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.