Parliament Website

Future Of Dairy Farming

EDM number 420 in 2010-12, proposed by Russell Brown on 07/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Agriculture and Animal welfare.

That this House notes with concern the increasing industrialisation of dairy farming in which cows are kept indoors for all or most of the year, are pushed to high milk yields and fed on unnatural cereal-rich diets that can lead to serious health problems; further notes the conclusion of the European Food Safety Authority that breeding for high milk yield is the major factor causing poor welfare in cows; believes that cows should be farmed in pasture-based systems as these enable them to express natural behaviours and are associated with lower levels of lameness; further believes that industrialisation threatens to undermine small dairy farmers; further notes that the use of lower yielding but healthier cows with better fertility and longevity can deliver higher net margins for farmers due to lower heifer replacement costs and higher sale prices for their calves and cull cows; and urges retailers and producers of dairy products not to source milk from industrial dairy units.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Russell Brown07/07/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourProposed
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Alan Meale08/07/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders08/07/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan08/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Dobbin08/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Stephen Pound12/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh12/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Thomas Docherty12/07/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSigned
Katy Clark13/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Michael Crockart13/07/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech13/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Gwynne13/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley13/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke13/07/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson14/07/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Joan Walley14/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Chris Williamson21/07/2010Derby NorthLabourSigned
Angela Smith26/07/2010Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Jim Dowd27/07/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Zac Goldsmith15/09/2010Richmond ParkConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.