Parliament Website

Victims Of Domestic Abuse And The Electoral Register

EDM number 470 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 12/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence and Electoral register.

That this House notes the vulnerability of victims of domestic abuse when registering to vote; further notes that full electoral registers are publicly available, causing a genuine threat to the safety of some women; further notes with concern that the current criteria for supporting evidence for anonymous registration applications restricts the number of vulnerable women able to register anonymously; believes that the criteria for qualified persons to provide attestation should be extended to include lawyers, doctors and women's aid workers; and calls on the Government to bring forward proposals to amend the Electoral Administration Act 2006 to strengthen the provision for anonymous registration.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jon Trickett12/07/2010HemsworthLabourWithdrawn
Katy Clark12/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Linda Riordan12/07/2010HalifaxLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd12/07/2010Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Michael Weir12/07/2010AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Mike Hancock12/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Davidson12/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell12/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake12/07/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty12/07/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Durkan12/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn12/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Williams12/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson13/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar13/07/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Graham Stringer13/07/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley13/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin13/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ian Mearns14/07/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
David Simpson14/07/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Tom Blenkinsop14/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma14/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne14/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan14/07/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman14/07/2010DarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley15/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Alan Campbell15/07/2010TynemouthLabourSigned
Andrew George15/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Green15/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
David Crausby19/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis20/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Naomi Long21/07/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Pugh22/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh26/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson26/07/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Twigg27/07/2010Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Michael Crockart06/09/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.