Parliament Website

National Childhood Obesity Week

EDM number 478 in 2010-12, proposed by Grahame Morris on 13/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Obesity.

That this House congratulates MEND and the National Obesity Forum on launching the inaugural National Childhood Obesity Week with the aim of improving understanding of childhood obesity issues and calling for more meaningful and rapid action to be taken to reduce levels of children beingoverweight and childhoodobesity; supports the continuing work of the NHS Change 4 Life initiative in encouraging children to have a healthier lifestyle; maintains that a clear and concise cross-governmental action plan is needed to produce a tangible reduction in child obesity levels; and calls on the Government to formulate this action plan specifically by including cost-effective, practical, evidence-based solutions in local communities and focusing on early intervention, addressing health inequalities and ultimately reducing the burdens on front-line NHS staff.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Grahame Morris13/07/2010EasingtonLabourProposed
Phil Wilson13/07/2010SedgefieldLabourSeconded
George Howarth13/07/2010KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery13/07/2010WansbeckLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns13/07/2010GatesheadLabourSeconded
John Cryer13/07/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Bob Russell13/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George13/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Pat Glass14/07/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Julie Elliott14/07/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea14/07/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson14/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson14/07/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders14/07/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie14/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell14/07/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Eric Illsley15/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Jim Dobbin15/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kate Green15/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
David Crausby19/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson19/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Katy Clark19/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis20/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
David Tredinnick21/07/2010BosworthConservativeSigned
John Pugh22/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Wayne David22/07/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne06/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.