Parliament Website

Reporting Of Fraud

EDM number 516 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Crockart on 15/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Benefits policy.

That this House notes that there are multiple bodies to which fraud may be reported but that it is unclear which body should be approached in any particular circumstance; believes that these structures appear complicated and even unmanageable and that this may discourage victims of fraud from effectively reporting it; further notes that it is not always clear, even to those bodies investigating fraud, whether a criminal or civil law has been broken, which can lead to victims of fraud being passed between agencies; further notes that victims of fraud often experience an undue sense of shame which may inhibit willingness fully to report the crime; and therefore calls for the simplification of the procedure by which members of the public may report suspected cases of fraud.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Michael Crockart15/07/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Gilbert15/07/2010St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George15/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock19/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Leech19/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams19/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stephenson19/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell22/07/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
David Anderson22/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards22/07/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake06/09/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Williams09/09/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Dakin11/10/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Katy Clark14/02/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.