Parliament Website

Arrest Of Reza Shahabi

EDM number 633 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 26/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations and Iran.

That this House deplores the arrest without charge by the Iranian authorities of Reza Shahabi, Treasurer of the Tehran Bus Workers Union, on 12 June 2010; is dismayed by this arrest which is the latest in a series of instances of the persecution of trade unionists in Iran; is deeply concerned that Reza Shahabi is being held in section 209 of the Evin prison which is notorious as a torture centre; is further concerned that he has been held in solitary confinement without any contact from family or friends for two months; notes that Amnesty International believes Reza Shahabi is very likely to be a prisoner of conscience and is being held solely on account of his trade union activities; believes the continued detention of Reza Shahabi places Iran in contravention of its agreement to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; and calls on the Iranian government to release immediatelyReza Shahabi and for the UK Government to do all within its power to assist in his release.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John McDonnell26/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn26/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell26/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley26/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Dennis Skinner26/07/2010BolsoverLabourSeconded
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Jonathan Edwards27/07/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes27/07/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson27/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Julian Lewis27/07/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jimmy Hood06/09/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan06/09/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern06/09/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop07/09/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma07/09/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin07/09/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/09/2010GowerLabourSigned
Dai Havard07/09/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/09/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon08/09/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell08/09/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd09/09/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/09/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd13/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Dan Rogerson13/09/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/09/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Julie Hilling14/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Luciana Berger15/09/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Mike Gapes11/10/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Ian Lavery22/06/2011WansbeckLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.