Parliament Website

Gibraltar National Day

EDM number 702 in 2010-12, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 08/09/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Overseas territories.

That this House joins the people of Gibraltar as they celebrate their National Day on 10 September 2010, commemorating the 1967 referendum in which more than 99 per cent. of Gibraltarians voted to reject annexationby Spain and remain a territory of the Crown; notes the rich, diverse and unique culture of the Gibraltarians, which encompasses numerous ethnicities including Maltese, Andalusian, Genoese, Portuguese and most predominantly British; recognises the shared heritage and historical links between the peoples of the United Kingdom and Gibraltar since 1704; and wishes the loyal people of the Rock a wonderful day of traditional red and white festivities, as all Gibraltarians display pride in both their homeland and in being British.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Andrew Rosindell08/09/2010RomfordConservativeProposed
Alan Keen08/09/2010Feltham and HestonLabourSeconded
Robert Halfon08/09/2010HarlowConservativeSeconded
David Davies08/09/2010MonmouthConservativeSeconded
Jimmy Hood08/09/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSeconded
Gavin Williamson08/09/2010South StaffordshireConservativeSeconded
Eric Illsley09/09/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Tom Blenkinsop09/09/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/09/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/09/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis09/09/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/09/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/09/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/09/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell13/09/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
James Gray13/09/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock14/09/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies14/09/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz14/09/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin14/09/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Crausby14/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Shannon15/09/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson15/09/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Andrew Gwynne15/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson16/09/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Graham Brady11/10/2010Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff18/10/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.