Parliament Website

Chernobyl Children's Lifeline

EDM number 723 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 14/09/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Children's social services.

That this House applauds the work of the Chernobyl Children's Lifeline in helping children who have had their lives damaged by the Chernobyl nuclear power station disaster of 1986; is concerned that over 24 years since the disaster, the World Health Organisation estimates that 500,000 children in Belarus are currently at risk; notes that since its founding in 1991 Chernobyl Children's Lifeline has brought over 46,000 children from affected areas to theUK for recuperative breaks as well as working with local charities in these areas to provide medical equipment, medicine and support for those worst affected; therefore expresses deep concern at the recent difficulties which the charity has faced in obtaining visas for children from the UK Border Agency; further notes with disappointment that in May only eight of 19 children from the affected areas planning to visit the Isle of Wight were able to make it to the UK; expresses further concern that the charity is required to pay for visas for children visiting the UK from Ukraine; and calls on the Government to work closely with the charity to resolve these issues.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Katy Clark14/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Ronnie Campbell14/09/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Annette Brooke14/09/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Linda Riordan14/09/2010HalifaxLabourSeconded
Bob Russell14/09/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Flynn14/09/2010Newport WestLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/09/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Leech14/09/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson15/09/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell15/09/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin15/09/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan15/09/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eric Illsley16/09/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Mark Williams16/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George16/09/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson16/09/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson16/09/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell16/09/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Pugh11/10/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty11/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
David Crausby11/10/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy11/10/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram11/10/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock12/10/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis12/10/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea13/10/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/10/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/10/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne19/10/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
David Tredinnick22/10/2010BosworthConservativeSigned
Dan Rogerson26/04/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.