Parliament Website

Japanese Whale And Dolphin Hunting

EDM number 769 in 2010-12, proposed by Tony Cunningham on 16/09/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Marine environment and Nature conservation.

That this House is deeply concerned that the Japanese Government issues quotas for the slaughter of over 18,000 dolphins, porpoises and other whales in coastal waters each year despite the International Whaling Commission's (IWC) moratorium on commercial whaling; is appalled that around a half million whales, dolphins and porpoises have been cruelly slaughtered in Japanese waters during the whaling ban alone; is alarmed that dolphin and porpoise meat is sold for public consumption and included in school lunches despite being contaminated with mercury and other toxins at levels exceeding public health safety limits; is further concerned that the cruel dolphin hunts are driving some populations to extinction and are partly motivated by the commercial sale of some animals to aquaria outside of Japan; and calls on the Prime Minister to make the strongest possible representations to the Japanese Government and Prime Minister calling on them to ban the sale of contaminated whale and dolphin products, abide by the international ban on commercial whaling and stop all dolphin, porpoise and other small cetacean hunts immediately.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tony Cunningham16/09/2010WorkingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley11/10/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton11/10/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan11/10/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Crausby11/10/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin11/10/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders11/10/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer11/10/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/10/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hancock12/10/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne12/10/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Greg Knight12/10/2010East YorkshireConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris13/10/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/10/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne13/10/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Michael Weir13/10/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/10/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/10/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea13/10/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/10/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale14/10/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Annette Brooke14/10/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George14/10/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Dakin14/10/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Pugh18/10/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart19/10/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell25/10/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley28/10/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
John Hemming01/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards01/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Nick Smith12/01/2011Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Mark Tami17/01/2011Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy26/01/2011Bristol EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.