Parliament Website

Court Of Appeal Ruling On Mesothelioma Liability (No. 2)

EDM number 961 in 2010-12, proposed by Natascha Engel on 04/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Courts, Diseases and Industrial health and safety.

That this House is concerned that the implications of the decision by the Court of Appeal on 8 October 2010 will be that many victims of asbestos-related disease will die without the certainty that their families will be entitled to compensation; agrees thatit is the exposure to asbestos that can lead to the development of fatal diseases such as mesothelioma and that the trigger must therefore be the point of exposure and not, as challenged by the insurance industry, the point the disease develops, which can be many decades later; further agrees with the High Court ruling in 2008 that the insurers who should pay compensation are those who provided cover to the employer at the time of the asbestos exposure; notes this is the latest of many attacks by the insurance industry on compensation for working people who were negligently exposed to deadly asbestos; and calls on the Association of British Insurers to take action against any of its memberswho are challenging the established trigger that is the point of exposure and support the establishment of an Employers' Liability Insurance Bureau.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Natascha Engel04/11/2010North East DerbyshireLabourProposed
Jim Dobbin08/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Graeme Morrice08/11/2010LivingstonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John Cryer08/11/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner08/11/2010BolsoverLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins09/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/11/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell09/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Miller09/11/2010Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Frank Dobson09/11/2010Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Green09/11/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop09/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery09/11/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
George Howarth10/11/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
John Leech10/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff10/11/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Frank Field10/11/2010BirkenheadLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/11/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Naomi Long10/11/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Frank Doran11/11/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Eric Illsley12/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Tessa Munt12/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz12/11/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy12/11/2010WiganLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd12/11/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Mike Wood12/11/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Graham Stringer15/11/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper15/11/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Dai Havard16/11/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
David Heyes16/11/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Louise Ellman16/11/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy16/11/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Robertson17/11/2010Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Simon Danczuk17/11/2010RochdaleLabourSigned
Julie Elliott17/11/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/11/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Margaret Ritchie22/11/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods23/11/2010City of DurhamLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi23/11/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman23/11/2010DarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty24/11/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/11/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
John Mann29/11/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Jim McGovern29/11/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams30/11/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby02/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas06/12/2010Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Grahame Morris06/12/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.