Parliament Website

Abolition Of The Death Penalty

EDM number 983 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Crockart on 10/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Human rights.

That this House notes that 58 countries retainthe death penalty; reiterates its opposition to the use of capital punishment in all circumstances; welcomes the recent launch of a new Government strategy for the global abolition of the death penalty, which identified the death penalty as a thematic priority of the Strategic Programme Fund (SPF) Human Rights Programme; and further welcomes the reconstitution of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Abolition of the Death Penalty.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Michael Crockart10/11/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan10/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley11/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Dobbin11/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams11/11/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton11/11/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Mark Reckless12/11/2010Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
John McDonnell12/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes15/11/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Tracey Crouch15/11/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards15/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock16/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood17/11/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long17/11/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
George Howarth17/11/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/11/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/11/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Julian Huppert18/11/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams19/11/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz22/11/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell25/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming29/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson29/11/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams30/11/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland01/12/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Don Foster31/03/2011BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce12/03/2012GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.