Parliament Website

Office Of Fair Trading And Fuel Prices

EDM number 1000 in 2012-13, proposed by Robert Halfon on 30/01/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Industry and Oil, petrol and natural gas.

That this House is disappointed that despite a unanimous vote in Parliament calling for an investigation, the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) has refused to hold a full inquiry into allegations of anti-competitive behaviour in the petrol and diesel market; notes that their decision is despite evidence of market abuse handed to them by hundreds of independent petrol stations, transport firms, small businesses and members of the public through RMI Petrol, the AA, and FairFuelUK; further notes that even the OFT report admits that over the last 10 years the combined gross margin for refining, wholesaling and retailing has increased by 3.4pence per litrefor petrol and 7.2 pence per litre for diesel and that taking account of inflation, this represents an increase in real terms of 14 per cent for petrol and 41 per cent for diesel; and therefore calls on the OFT to reconsider its decision not to hold a full inquiry and to step up the pressure on the oil companies and financial speculators who are pushing up prices at the pump.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Robert Halfon30/01/2013HarlowConservativeProposed
Alan Meale31/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton31/01/2013GowerLabourSeconded
Peter Aldous01/02/2013WaveneyConservativeSeconded
Robin Walker01/02/2013WorcesterConservativeSeconded
Karl McCartney01/02/2013LincolnConservativeSeconded
Jim Dobbin04/02/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan04/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Rosindell05/02/2013RomfordConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon05/02/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/02/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell05/02/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Anderson05/02/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer06/02/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mark Williams06/02/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway06/02/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
William McCrea06/02/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Sandra Osborne07/02/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andy Sawford07/02/2013CorbyLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden11/02/2013Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
John Leech12/02/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy12/02/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds13/02/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Sammy Wilson13/02/2013East AntrimDUPSigned
Lady Hermon26/02/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Williams27/02/2013Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff04/03/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/03/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Brooks Newmark11/03/2013BraintreeConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.