Parliament Website

Burma - Thailand Refugee And Human Trafficking Crisis

EDM number 1024 in 2012-13, proposed by Frank Field on 05/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Asylum.

That this House is alarmed that, whilst the government of Thailand has agreed in principle to allow the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) access to hundreds of Rohingya refugees that have fled Western Burma's continuing sectarian violence, permanent access has still not been granted; welcomes the government of Thailand's pledge to work with the UNHCR to find a long-term solution but is further alarmed by recent statements indicating that that government is considering deporting refugees after six months, despite warnings that they will face persecution; expresses serious concern that human trafficking of refugees from Burma is a lucrative criminal activity and that traffickers are taking advantage of the violence and fuelling the growing wave of refugees; is especially concerned by a recent BBC report revealing that Thai officials have been selling refugees to traffickers; calls on the Government tourge the government of Thailand to grant the UNHCR full and permanent access to conduct refugee screening and to work with the European Union to push for a regional Association of Southeast Asian Nations-led response to the crisis; further calls on the Government to raise the Thai officials' reported selling of refugees to traffickers with the Thai government; further notes that growing numbers of refugees are risking their lives on smugglers' boats due to mounting frustration over the lack of immediate solution to their plight; and therefore again calls on the Government to work to ensure that unrestricted humanitarian access is granted by the Burmese authorities to Rakhine state.

This motion has been signed by a total of 65 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Christopher Huhne05/02/2013EastleighLiberal DemocratWithdrawn
Frank Field05/02/2013BirkenheadLabourProposed
John McDonnell05/02/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Valerie Vaz05/02/2013Walsall SouthLabourSeconded
John Leech05/02/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/02/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kate Hoey05/02/2013VauxhallLabourSeconded
Mike Wood05/02/2013Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Linda Riordan05/02/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
John Hemming05/02/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson05/02/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie05/02/2013Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir05/02/2013AngusScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff05/02/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn05/02/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan05/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell05/02/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/02/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/02/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Glenda Jackson05/02/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/02/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell05/02/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Reevell05/02/2013DewsburyConservativeSigned
Michael Crockart05/02/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham05/02/2013Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris05/02/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/02/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/02/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin06/02/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon06/02/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
William McCrea06/02/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton06/02/2013GowerLabourSigned
Paul Murphy07/02/2013TorfaenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne07/02/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andrew George07/02/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams07/02/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery07/02/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/02/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson12/02/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Katy Clark12/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice13/02/2013LivingstonLabourSigned
Julian Huppert13/02/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon13/02/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi13/02/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma13/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Amess13/02/2013Southend WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds13/02/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden13/02/2013Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas13/02/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
George Howarth13/02/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders13/02/2013TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter13/02/2013South West DevonConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry14/02/2013BanburyConservativeSigned
David Ward14/02/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Soames25/02/2013Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Mark Williams25/02/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Goggins25/02/2013Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Graham Brady25/02/2013Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing25/02/2013Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Barry Sheerman25/02/2013HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Naomi Long27/02/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr27/02/2013North AntrimDUPSigned
Greg Mulholland27/02/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams07/03/2013Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.