Parliament Website

Yorkshire And The Tour De France

EDM number 147 in 2012-13, proposed by Greg Mulholland on 24/05/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House welcomes the Back le Bid campaign, established by Welcome to Yorkshire, to bring the Tour de France to Yorkshire; notes theTour is the world's largest annual sporting event with 88 million people watching worldwide, making a successful Yorkshire bid an opportunity to showcase Yorkshire globally and provide a multi-million pound boost to the regional and national economy; further notes that it is five years since the Tour de France last came to Britain, with the 2007 competitors setting off from central London; further notes that the campaign has the support of British cycling stars Mark Cavendish, a Tour de France veteran, and Ben Swift; and so adds its support to Yorkshire's hosting the initial stage of the 2016 Tour de France, which would, like the London2012 Olympics, the 2013 Rugby League World Cup, the 2014 Commonwealth Games, the 2014 Ryder Cup, the 2015 Rugby Union World Cup and the 2017 World Athletics Championship, further bolster Britain's standing as one of the great sporting nations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Greg Mulholland24/05/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Julian Smith24/05/2012Skipton and RiponConservativeSeconded
Hilary Benn11/06/2012Leeds CentralLabourSeconded
Graham Stuart11/06/2012Beverley and HoldernessConservativeSeconded
Craig Whittaker11/06/2012Calder ValleyConservativeSeconded
George Galloway11/06/2012Bradford WestRespectSeconded
David Simpson11/06/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hancock11/06/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Blomfield12/06/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Alan Meale12/06/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner12/06/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/06/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan13/06/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman14/06/2012HuddersfieldLabourSigned
David Anderson18/06/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
David Ward27/06/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Fabian Hamilton16/07/2012Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.