Parliament Website

Persecution Of Ahwazi Arabs In Iran

EDM number 184 in 2012-13, proposed by Bob Russell on 12/06/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Iran.

That this House is appalled by the persecution and discrimination faced by the Ahwazi Arabs in the south-west Khuzestan region of Iran by the authorities in Tehran that has resulted in high levels of poverty, illiteracy and child malnutrition not seen elsewhere in Iran; expresses serious concern that the Iranian security forces have targeted government critics within the community, subjected them to torture and forced them to face secret and biased trials in revolutionary courts; condemns the reporting of confessions of those who have been held in custody without access to lawyers and who are likely to have been tortured; welcomes the recent Foreign and Commonwealth Office report on Iran highlighting the Iranian government's discriminatory practices and violence against Ahwazi Arabs and other ethnic minorities; is mindful of the non-implementation of the recommendations made by the Working Group on the Universal Periodic Review on Iran of 2010 that call for the guarantee of the protection of the civil and political rights of all, particularly dissidents and members of minority groups and the end of torture and secret detention; and calls on the Government to encourage the relevant Special Procedures of the Human Rights Council to seek invitations for the UN Special Rapporteur on Iran, Ahmed Shaheed, to visit Arab districts unimpeded and interview Ahwazi Arab political prisoners without the presence of government officials and security personnel.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Bob Russell12/06/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan12/06/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie13/06/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon13/06/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale13/06/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Robert Halfon13/06/2012HarlowConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn13/06/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/06/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon14/06/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/06/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/06/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew George18/06/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley18/06/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/06/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin19/06/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2012GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea19/06/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds20/06/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Paul Flynn20/06/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland20/06/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams20/06/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne21/06/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas26/06/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Amess10/07/2012Southend WestConservativeSigned
Simon Hughes17/07/2012Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.