Parliament Website

Day Of The Girl

EDM number 496 in 2012-13, proposed by Graeme Morrice on 11/09/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Incomes and poverty.

That this House celebrates the Day of the Girl on 11 October 2012 which was the result of extensive campaigning by Plan, the global children's charity committed to helping children from the world's poorest countries build a better future; recognises the link between girls' education and poverty; acknowledges that 70 per cent of those in poverty worldwide are female; notes that one in three girls around the world is denied an education as a result of poverty, conflict or discrimination; and supports Plan's Because I Am A Girl campaign which aims to help girls reach their full potential.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Graeme Morrice11/09/2012LivingstonLabourProposed
Margaret Ritchie11/09/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon11/09/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan11/09/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George11/09/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/09/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
George Galloway12/09/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
David Anderson12/09/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams12/09/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma12/09/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford12/09/2012Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/09/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/09/2012GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/09/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell12/09/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Sandra Osborne12/09/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Alan Meale12/09/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Naomi Long12/09/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
David Morris13/09/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
John Leech13/09/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming13/09/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson13/09/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/09/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz17/09/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon17/09/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/09/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson18/09/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy18/09/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Katy Clark15/10/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern15/10/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
Michael Crockart15/10/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Blomfield17/10/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/10/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell29/10/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.