Parliament Website

Society Of Biology's Inaugural Biology Week 2012

EDM number 569 in 2012-13, proposed by Andrew Miller on 15/10/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House celebrates the launch of the Society of Biology's first ever Biology Week in October 2012; notes that among its key objectives is a commitment to encourage an interest in science among young people; congratulates the Society for its initiative; applauds the efforts that are being made throughout the UK, especially by teachers in primary and secondary schools, to revitalise the science curriculum and to convey the excitement of science to pupils and students; further notes the wide range of activities organised by the Society in local communities all over the country which are designed to illustrate and focus on the vital role of biology and the biological sciences; further notes that on 17 October 2012 the parliamentary launch of Biology Week is co-sponsored by the hon. Members for Ellesmere Port and Neston, South Basildon and East Thurrock, and Cambridge; and further notes the unrivalled contribution that the study of biology and the biological sciences have made and continue to make to understanding of nature, to quality of life, and to the knowledge economy of the 21st century.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Andrew Miller15/10/2012Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourProposed
Bob Russell15/10/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/10/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Julian Huppert15/10/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Metcalfe15/10/2012South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon16/10/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martin Caton16/10/2012GowerLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/10/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Michael Crockart17/10/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock17/10/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George17/10/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway17/10/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim Dobbin17/10/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/10/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson18/10/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/10/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/10/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech22/10/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams23/10/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby24/10/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/10/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/10/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/10/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz30/10/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell05/11/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.