Parliament Website

Blacklisted Workers

EDM number 609 in 2012-13, proposed by Steve Rotheram on 19/10/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Employment.

That this House believes in justice for blacklisted workers; notes that the 44 construction companies exposed as blacklisters by the Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) investigation of the Consulting Association escaped without penalty or punishment; is alarmed that in recent evidence to the Scottish Affairs Select Committee representatives of the ICO confirmed that they had seized only five to 10 per cent of files held by the Consulting Association; further believes that companies guilty of blacklisting must be barred from tendering for public procured contracts; is concerned that a recent court case revealed that the police and security services may have been complicit in the Consulting Association's activities and that blacklist records were kept on academics and journalists as well as thousands of construction workers; insists that the ICO notifies all persons listed on the Consulting Association blacklist files directly in the same way victims were notified in the phone hacking scandal; demands that compensation be paid retrospectively to all victims of blacklisting; calls for a public inquiry into the blacklisting scandal so that there can be no cover up; accepts that the existing blacklisting regulations offer no protection and are not fit for purpose and that it should be a criminal offence to supply, compile, solicit or use information in connection with a prohibited list; and further believes that the blacklisting of workers must no longer be part of our society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 79 MPs.

Steve Rotheram19/10/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourProposed
Dennis Skinner22/10/2012BolsoverLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn22/10/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins22/10/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham23/10/2012Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/10/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale23/10/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Ian Lavery23/10/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan24/10/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/10/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby24/10/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway24/10/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mary Glindon24/10/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/10/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Natascha Engel25/10/2012North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin25/10/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/10/2012GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/10/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim McGovern26/10/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock29/10/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dave Watts29/10/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy30/10/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz30/10/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Frank Roy31/10/2012Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Dai Havard31/10/2012Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Richard Burden31/10/2012Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
John Cryer31/10/2012Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Frank Doran31/10/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly31/10/2012Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Graham Allen01/11/2012Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Mike Wood02/11/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/11/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell05/11/2012East LothianLabourSigned
Ian Mearns05/11/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz06/11/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield06/11/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Tom Clarke07/11/2012Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi07/11/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Joan Walley08/11/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love09/11/2012EdmontonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris09/11/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood12/11/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jim Dowd12/11/2012Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
George Mudie12/11/2012Leeds EastLabourSigned
Albert Owen13/11/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Kevin Barron13/11/2012Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Pete Wishart13/11/2012Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ruddock19/11/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson19/11/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Clive Betts19/11/2012Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson20/11/2012East AntrimDUPSigned
John Robertson20/11/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/11/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Tami22/11/2012Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Michael Weir22/11/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Katy Clark26/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward28/11/2012St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Karl Turner28/11/2012Kingston upon Hull EastLabourSigned
Bill Esterson28/11/2012Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Geraint Davies29/11/2012Swansea WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan04/12/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick04/12/2012PrestonLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan05/12/2012Cardiff WestLabourSigned
David Anderson05/12/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis10/12/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley13/12/2012York CentralLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice17/12/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn18/12/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Jessica Morden07/01/2013Newport EastLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie23/01/2013Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hoey24/01/2013VauxhallLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas31/01/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Pat Glass13/02/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
Lady Hermon26/02/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Teresa Pearce27/02/2013Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper28/02/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Michael Meacher12/03/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/04/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tristram Hunt17/04/2013Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.