Parliament Website

Media Freedom In Turkey

EDM number 724 in 2012-13, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 13/11/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights and Middle East.

That this House condemns the continued imprisonment of approximately 76 journalists in Turkey, the highest number in the world, on what appear to be politically motivated terror charges; expresses alarm over the arbitrary nature of these prosecutions and the lack of due process or fair treatment in the courts received by these journalists; holds deep concerns that a number of journalists in prison are on indefinite hunger strike; expresses apprehension over the deterioration in media freedom in Turkey, in particular the Kurdish media and those who are critical of government policy; and echoes the call of the European Federation of Journalists that Turkey should make urgent reforms to protect press freedom and drop charges against journalists being prosecuted under anti-terror and anti-state laws.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Austin Mitchell13/11/2012Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Bob Russell13/11/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell13/11/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn13/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Katy Clark13/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery13/11/2012WansbeckLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd13/11/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams13/11/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Cunningham13/11/2012Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/11/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan19/11/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Bottomley19/11/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Virendra Sharma19/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Shannon20/11/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon20/11/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Dennis Skinner20/11/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie20/11/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Naomi Long21/11/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Alan Meale21/11/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/11/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/11/2012GowerLabourSigned
George Galloway21/11/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Graham Stringer21/11/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jim McGovern22/11/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Ward22/11/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Tracey Crouch22/11/2012Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Graham Allen27/11/2012Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy30/11/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Hemming04/12/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.