Parliament Website

Policing Of The Miners' Strike 1984-85

EDM number 775 in 2012-13, proposed by Ian Lavery on 26/11/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Coal, Industrial relations and Police.

That this House notes with profound concern reports in a recent BBC documentary alleging that some police who were involved in prosecutions following the infamous violence at the Orgreave Coke plant in South Yorkshire colluded when they wrote their statements; further notes that the 95 miners who were charged with riot and unlawful assembly at Orgreave were all acquitted a year later; believes that the alleged manipulation of statements raises further serious questions about the conduct of South Yorkshire Police in the 1980s; further believes that the decision of South Yorkshire Police to refer themselves to the Independent Police Complaints Commission is too little too late; and calls on the Director of Public Prosecutions to investigate South Yorkshire Police in tandem with the Independent Police Complaints Commission; and further believes that the Director of Public Prosecutions should also deliver a full comprehensive inquiry into the policing of the miners' strike throughout the UK to ensure miners, their families and communities finally receive the justice they deserve.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Ian Lavery26/11/2012WansbeckLabourProposed
Dennis Skinner26/11/2012BolsoverLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell26/11/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
David Anderson26/11/2012BlaydonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns26/11/2012GatesheadLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris26/11/2012EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins26/11/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer26/11/2012Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Nick Smith26/11/2012Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Alan Meale27/11/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma27/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley27/11/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan27/11/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton27/11/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards28/11/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Steve Rotheram28/11/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Katy Clark28/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Graham Stringer28/11/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
George Galloway28/11/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim Dobbin28/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell28/11/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/11/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George28/11/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth29/11/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson29/11/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham30/11/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/11/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech03/12/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson04/12/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon04/12/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim McGovern04/12/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan05/12/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis05/12/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield05/12/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn06/12/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Kevin Barron10/12/2012Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi11/12/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Mann25/02/2013BassetlawLabourSigned
Sarah Champion25/02/2013RotherhamLabourSigned
George Mudie18/04/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.