Parliament Website

British Potato Producers

EDM number 901 in 2012-13, proposed by Timothy Farron on 09/01/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Agriculture.

That this House notes with concern the severe losses sustained by British potato producers as aresult of 2012's unprecedented cold and wet summer conditions; recognises that a 30 per cent increase in costs and a 25 per cent drop in productivity have led many growers to consider their future in the industry unless contract prices are increased; further notes the fact that around 75 per cent of all potatoes in the UK are grown on fixed price contracts and that this has caused enormous financial difficulties for growers in the last year; and calls on the Government to work to ensure that contract prices rise sufficiently in order to protect Britain's potato producers and prevent them from leaving the industry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Tim Farron09/01/2013Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell09/01/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George09/01/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Beith09/01/2013Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/01/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mary Glindon10/01/2013North TynesideLabourSeconded
John Leech14/01/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin14/01/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale14/01/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson15/01/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hancock15/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern15/01/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Michael Crockart16/01/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon16/01/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/01/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton17/01/2013GowerLabourSigned
George Galloway17/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mark Williams17/01/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea18/01/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell21/01/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne21/01/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/01/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi29/01/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell30/01/2013East LothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.