Parliament Website

G8 Time To Save The Congo Campaign

EDM number 916 in 2012-13, proposed by Mike Hancock on 15/01/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International politics and government and Military operations.

That this House applauds the Foreign Secretary's crusade to tackle rape in warzones; believes that there is no place in the world where this is needed more than in the Congo, where warlords and militia gangs in and outside the Congolese Army have used rape to punish, humiliate, destroy and displace women, families and communities from rich mining areas; notes that 2013 marks 20 years since the first gross violation of international humanitarian laws, compiled in the UN Mapping Exercise 1993-2003, was committed in the Congo; further notes that 2013 marks 10 years since the 1998 Rwandan-led invasion of Congo was said to have officially concluded; supports the G8 Time to Save the Congo campaign, an international push to put an end to impunity in Congo at the heart of the 2013 G8 policy on Africa; and urges the Foreign Secretary and the Prime Minister to make accountability for crimes of international concern in Congo conditional for direct budgetary support to all governments in the African Great Lakes region.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Mike Hancock15/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell15/01/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn15/01/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan15/01/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley15/01/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon16/01/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Lady Hermon16/01/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/01/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale16/01/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/01/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Leech17/01/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George17/01/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton17/01/2013GowerLabourSigned
John Pugh17/01/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders22/01/2013TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn23/01/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
David Ward24/01/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell28/01/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/01/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
George Galloway29/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Michael Crockart29/01/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams31/01/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Naomi Long05/02/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Mark Williams06/02/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham06/02/2013Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas07/02/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Katy Clark11/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Amess25/02/2013Southend WestConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.