Parliament Website

HS2 Compensation Scheme

EDM number 922 in 2012-13, proposed by Jim Cunningham on 15/01/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House notes the development of the plans for HS2; further notes that the construction and running of the railway link will have a detrimental impact on properties in close proximity to the line and that this will be reflected in the market value of these properties; believes that no individual should have to bear a disproportionate share of the cost of HS2 by suffering a personal loss in the value of the property and that the Government should keep to its promise to compensate everyone suffering a significant loss; further notes that there are believed to be 172,000 homes within a kilometre of the line or within 250 metres of a tunnel; further notes that the current compensation scheme proposes to purchase at market price only 1,914 properties which lie within 120 metres either side of the line, including 338 which are in its direct path and must be bought and demolished; understands that all other affected households will have to apply to the Long Term Hardship Scheme which provides for those who have a `strong personal reason to sell', but cannot do so because of HS2; further understands that the criteria are very stringent and that only 500 to 600 properties are expected to qualify for this compensation; recognises that many people have based their retirement plans and their savings around the prospect of selling their property who may no longer be able to do so as a direct result of HS2; further believes that if the Government cannot afford fair compensation, then it cannot afford HS2; and calls on the Government to reconsider the HS2 compensation scheme to ensure that all those whose property will lose market value as a result of HS2 should receive full compensation for this loss or should have their property bought by the Government at a fair market value.

This motion has been signed by a total of 11 MPs.

Jim Cunningham15/01/2013Coventry SouthLabourProposed
Geoffrey Robinson15/01/2013Coventry North WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell15/01/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dave Watts15/01/2013St Helens NorthLabourSeconded
Jim McGovern15/01/2013Dundee WestLabourSeconded
Alan Meale16/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell16/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Roger Williams07/03/2013Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Bridgen14/03/2013North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.