Parliament Website

RSPCA And Prosecution Under The Hunting Act

EDM number 929 in 2012-13, proposed by Bob Russell on 15/01/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Animal welfare.

That this House congratulates registered charity the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) on the successful prosecution of the Heythrop Hunt and two individual huntsmen for illegal hunting and believes that this and other prosecutions prove that the Hunting Act is an effective and enforceable piece of legislation; acknowledges with admiration the professionalism of RSPCA inspectors and the prosecutions department in investigating and dealing with complaints about animal cruelty; observes that the RSPCA only brings prosecutions as a last resort where no other course of action is possible and where it is in the public interest to prosecute; and recognises that without the RSPCA carrying out this important enforcement work animal welfare would not be so effectively promoted and protected in England and Wales.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Bob Russell15/01/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Adrian Sanders16/01/2013TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/01/2013Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale16/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell16/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams16/01/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Caroline Lucas16/01/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Martin Caton17/01/2013GowerLabourSigned
George Galloway17/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
John Leech17/01/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona O'Donnell21/01/2013East LothianLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/01/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes21/01/2013Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/01/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/01/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Joan Walley22/01/2013Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
David Wright22/01/2013TelfordLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice22/01/2013LivingstonLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd23/01/2013Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/01/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Frank Doran24/01/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mark Tami24/01/2013Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
David Ward24/01/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes28/01/2013Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell28/01/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood28/01/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Albert Owen29/01/2013Ynys MLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi29/01/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley30/01/2013York CentralLabourSigned
Richard Burden31/01/2013Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dowd31/01/2013Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Paul Burstow04/02/2013Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson04/02/2013Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Pat Glass04/02/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
Andrew Miller05/02/2013Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham06/02/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Robertson07/02/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Anne Begg11/02/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Mike Wood11/02/2013Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley11/02/2013HoveConservativeSigned
Bill Esterson12/02/2013Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Grahame Morris12/02/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark13/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan25/02/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper25/02/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Nick Smith27/02/2013Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
David Crausby05/03/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Linda Riordan12/03/2013HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.