Parliament Website

Release Of Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani

EDM number 1214 in 2013-14, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 24/03/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Iran.

That this House welcomes the release of Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani from prison in Iran; notes that Mrs Ashtiani was sentenced to death by stoning after being convicted of adultery in 2006; further notes the Early Day Motion tabled on 19 July 2010 to raise awareness of Mrs Ashtiani's case; further notes that her case was suspended in 2010 after international pressure, including a letter to the President of Iran signed by 119 hon. Members, ultimately reducing her sentence to 10 years; welcomes the news that Sakineh Ashtiani has been allowed to leave prison; further notes the Prime Minister's involvement in raising the case of Mrs Ashtiani with the Iranian government; calls on the Government to urge the Iranian government to review other cases where women have been convicted of adultery; and further calls on the Government to put pressure on the Iranian government to outlaw the practice of stoning and other forms of the death penalty, flogging or imprisonment for those convicted of adultery, a violation of the Declaration of Human Rights to which Iran is a signatory.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Valerie Vaz24/03/2014Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Mark Durkan24/03/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie25/03/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale25/03/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon25/03/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Julian Lewis25/03/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John McDonnell25/03/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/03/2014GowerLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/03/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Julian Huppert25/03/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin25/03/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/03/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Dowd25/03/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/03/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne26/03/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner26/03/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/03/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon27/03/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil27/03/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Naomi Long27/03/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Leech27/03/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz31/03/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell31/03/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward01/04/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd01/04/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff01/04/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell02/04/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rosie Cooper02/04/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Andrew George02/04/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris03/04/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/04/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.