Parliament Website

Release Of Iranian Christians

EDM number 271 in 2013-14, proposed by Gregory Campbell on 18/06/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Iran and Religion and faith communities.

That this House notes the election in Iran of Hassan Rouhani as President; further notes that his election is being claimed as a victory for moderation; and calls on the Government to open discussions immediately with the new President to ensure that prisoners of conscience in Iran including the imprisoned Pastor Saeed Abedini who has been held in prison since September 2012 on a 'crime' of promoting Christianity through house churches and sentenced to eight years, can be released with immediate effect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Gregory Campbell18/06/2013East LondonderryDUPProposed
Bob Russell18/06/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon18/06/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
William McCrea18/06/2013South AntrimDUPSeconded
Ian Paisley Jnr18/06/2013North AntrimDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan19/06/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale19/06/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/06/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin19/06/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/06/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon19/06/2013North DownIndependentSigned
David Simpson19/06/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders19/06/2013TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell20/06/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/06/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie24/06/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Howarth25/06/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mark Williams25/06/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/06/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George25/06/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long26/06/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Michael Weir26/06/2013AngusScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma26/06/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd27/06/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Ward27/06/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming01/07/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy01/07/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/07/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley03/07/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon04/07/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/07/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell08/07/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.