Parliament Website

Keeping Guards On Trains

EDM number 423 in 2013-14, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 16/07/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial health and safety and Railways.

That this House welcomes the work of train guards in helping ensure the safe operation of trains and also providing passenger assistance and reassurance; notes that guards play a vital role in protecting the train and acting in emergencies such as driver incapacity, failure of train safety systems and derailments; further notes that guards are vital for women and disabled and older people to feel more secure when using trains and providing assistance with access onto and onboard trains; further welcomes the broad support for retaining staff on trains from the TUC, the Women's Institute, National Pensioners Convention and disability groups; is very concerned therefore that London Overground Rail Operations Ltd (LOROL) which operates London Overground rail services on behalf of Transport for London has announced that it intends to sack all its guards and run the trains as driver-only operation; is also concerned that as LOROL is a 50/50 joint venture company between Deutsche Bahn AG (DB) and MTR Corporation the safety and comfort of London train passengers is being compromised to support profits going to German and Hong Kong state railways; and calls on the Mayor of London to intervene to ensure guards are retained on London Overground services.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn16/07/2013Islington NorthLabourProposed
Bob Russell16/07/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell16/07/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock16/07/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale17/07/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/07/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim McGovern17/07/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Ian Mearns17/07/2013GatesheadLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma17/07/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Katy Clark17/07/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/07/2013GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/07/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/07/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/07/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner17/07/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
John Cryer18/07/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John Leech18/07/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon18/07/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz02/09/2013Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
David Ward03/09/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams10/09/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas08/10/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Lady Hermon16/10/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Lavery06/03/2014WansbeckLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.