Parliament Website

40 Years Of Commercial Radio

EDM number 508 in 2013-14, proposed by Anne Begg on 11/09/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Broadcasting.

That this House congratulates commercial radio on marking 40 years since its launch in October 1973; applauds the contribution of this sector in providing four decades of public value through its mix of music, news, sport and entertainment; notes the enduring popularity of commercial radio, which still attracts over 35 million people each week, despite the increasing pressure on traditional media and audience fragmentation; believes that a strong commercial radio sector competing with the BBC is good for audiences and media plurality; and calls on the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport to ensure that the legislative and regulatory framework supports this outcome.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Anne Begg11/09/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourProposed
Andrew Rosindell11/09/2013RomfordConservativeSeconded
Frank Doran11/09/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSeconded
Michael Fabricant11/09/2013LichfieldConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/09/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John Whittingdale11/09/2013MaldonConservativeSeconded
Andrew George11/09/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon12/09/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Meale12/09/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Hemming12/09/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Amess08/10/2013Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern08/10/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/10/2013GowerLabourSigned
Michael Crockart08/10/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/10/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson08/10/2013Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell08/10/2013Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley08/10/2013HoveConservativeSigned
George Howarth08/10/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Michael Connarty08/10/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley10/10/2013York CentralLabourSigned
William McCrea10/10/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/10/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tracey Crouch10/10/2013Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans14/10/2013Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Sandra Osborne14/10/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Julian Lewis14/10/2013New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John Leech15/10/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blackman15/10/2013Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lindsay Roy17/10/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Crausby17/10/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds29/10/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.