Parliament Website

Syrian Refugees

EDM number 565 in 2013-14, proposed by Sarah Teather on 14/10/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum and Middle East.

That this House recognises the scale of the current refugee crisis caused by the ongoing conflict in Syria; welcomes the UK's contribution to the humanitarian aid effort so far; is concerned that despite this support countries bordering Syria are struggling to cope with the numbers of refugees and believes that this threatens the stability of the region; further recognises the UK's proud tradition of protecting refugees and providing sanctuary to those fleeing persecution and war; further recognises that the UK has long sheltered a Syrian diaspora, many of whom have family links to those currently fleeing Syria; regrets that the UK is not one of the 17 countries participating in the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) resettlement programme; notes that Germany has agreed to transfer 5,000 Syrian refugees from Lebanon to Germany; and calls on the Government to work with the UNHCR and the international community to institute an emergency humanitarian evacuation programme and to establish a resettlement programme in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Sarah Teather14/10/2013Brent CentralLiberal DemocratProposed
Jeremy Corbyn14/10/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell14/10/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Bob Russell14/10/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan14/10/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon15/10/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale15/10/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Hywel Francis15/10/2013AberavonLabourSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Martin Caton15/10/2013GowerLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie15/10/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Ward16/10/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea16/10/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin16/10/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew George16/10/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/10/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma17/10/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/10/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams23/10/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke24/10/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson24/10/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Katy Clark28/10/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech31/10/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Huppert07/11/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood07/11/2013CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas12/12/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Blomfield13/01/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.