Parliament Website

Safe Registered Nurse Staffing On Hospital Wards

EDM number 643 in 2013-14, proposed by Andrew George on 29/10/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Health staff and professions.

That this House shares deep concern about occasions when patient safety has been compromised on acute hospital wards; believes that any cases of inexcusably poor nurse practice should be rooted out; notes however, that many reports on such cases provide compelling evidence of a link between the adequacy of registered nurse numbers and the quality of patient outcomes; supports the work of the Safe Staffing Alliance in highlighting the need for safe registered nurse staffing , that cases of poor staffing should be routinely reported and that hospital care should be underpinned by a fundamental standard where a limit of eight patients to each registered nurse, excluding the nurse in charge, should never be breached; further notes recent supportive comments by respected authorities including Robert Francis QC; and calls on the Government to introduce new benchmark standards of safe registered nurse staffing on hospital wards.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Andrew George29/10/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratProposed
Sarah Newton29/10/2013Truro and FalmouthConservativeSeconded
Grahame Morris29/10/2013EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins30/10/2013Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell30/10/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds30/10/2013Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan30/10/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Paul Flynn30/10/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/10/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton30/10/2013GowerLabourSigned
Bob Russell31/10/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn31/10/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell31/10/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin31/10/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Leech31/10/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale31/10/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz04/11/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie05/11/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson05/11/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea06/11/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Linda Riordan06/11/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
Tom Watson06/11/2013West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
John Cryer07/11/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
George Howarth07/11/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy11/11/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Julian Huppert09/12/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.