Parliament Website

Recognition Of Work Done By The Charity, Independent Age

EDM number 818 in 2013-14, proposed by Bob Russell on 28/11/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Charities.

That this House acknowledges that on 23 December 2013 it will be the 150th anniversary of Independent Age, a national older people's charity which offers advice, befriending and also campaigns for a fairer deal for older people; celebrates the work the charity does to provide personalised support to 10,000 older people and their families, including information and advice on social care provision; notes that Independent Age provides up to 40,000 older people and their families with information and support via a growing range of free publications and guides and advice on its website; welcomes the charity's production of Wise Guides, which offers practical information and advice for over-65s on finances, staying independent and getting the most out of later life; believes it is crucial that charities like Independent Age are in place to offer regular face-to-face or telephone support to those who are lonely or isolated through its network of volunteers; and calls on all hon. and right hon. Members to support Independent Age as it continues its work assisting older people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Bob Russell28/11/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Andy Slaughter02/12/2013HammersmithLabourSeconded
Tracey Crouch02/12/2013Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSeconded
Margaret Ritchie03/12/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell03/12/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan03/12/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale03/12/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin03/12/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock03/12/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea04/12/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell04/12/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma04/12/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/12/2013GowerLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham04/12/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/12/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden04/12/2013Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Andrew George05/12/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Dobson05/12/2013Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi09/12/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock09/12/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson09/12/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/12/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Kate Hoey09/12/2013VauxhallLabourSigned
David Amess10/12/2013Southend WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds11/12/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Linda Riordan12/12/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
Mark Field16/12/2013Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSigned
Neil Parish18/12/2013Tiverton and HonitonConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman18/12/2013Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry18/12/2013BanburyConservativeSigned
Grahame Morris18/12/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Frank Doran19/12/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dowd08/01/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd23/01/2014EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Birtwistle10/03/2014BurnleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.