Parliament Website

IT And Probation

EDM number 111 in 2014-15, proposed by Elfyn Llwyd on 16/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Information technology and Alternatives to prison.

That this House is alarmed by the ongoing reports of IT issues within the newly formed National Probation Service (NPS) and 21 community rehabilitation companies (CRC); notes the failure of the NDelius IT system in the first days of the new service with some areas in England and Wales reporting the system was down for four days; is concerned that this has resulted in numerous residual issues including delays in court reports and prison recall as well as significant delays in transferring cases to the new organisation; is further concerned that staff working in the CRCs cannot access records of the NPS and this has resulted in CRC staff being unable to assess an individual's risk of harm, including risk registers such as child protection and sexual offences, which is putting both staff and the public at risk; and calls on the Government to assess the risk to public safety of the new probation service and halt the process of privatisation to protect the public and the dedicated staff of both the NPS and CRCs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Elfyn Llwyd16/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
John McDonnell16/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan17/06/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner17/06/2014BolsoverLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Glenda Jackson18/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin18/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams18/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Steve Rotheram18/06/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/06/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Lavery19/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Nick Harvey23/06/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas24/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Grahame Morris25/06/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Frank Dobson26/06/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Roger Williams30/06/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood30/06/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman30/06/2014DarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan30/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gordon Marsden30/06/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock01/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield02/07/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Joan Walley02/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly03/07/2014Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mark Williams03/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman07/07/2014HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham07/07/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Dave Watts08/07/2014St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz08/07/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne10/07/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth10/07/2014Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Louise Ellman14/07/2014Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Andrew Miller15/07/2014Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes16/07/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland01/09/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Blunkett08/09/2014Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.