Parliament Website

Jobs In Local Journalism

EDM number 165 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 23/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial relations, Media and Press.

That this House recognises that local newspapers make an essential contribution to civic identity and democratic life in communities; notes that over one hundred local titles have ceased publication altogether since the recession of 2008, whilst many more have merged or reduced in frequency; expresses concern that around one in four local journalists are believed to have lost their jobs during this period; further notes that the quality of local news relies on locally-based journalists and editors able to report on public life in their particular geographical areas; regrets the decision of Newsquest management to transfer editorial production to a single hub in Newport, Wales which will transfer the production of news hundreds of miles away from sites in the North West and South London; supports members of the National Union of Journalists in taking action to defend jobs in local journalism; and calls on the Government to work with communities, union representatives and other stakeholders to implement a coherent strategy to protect jobs in quality local journalism.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

John McDonnell23/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon24/06/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jonathan Edwards24/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan24/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Martin Caton24/06/2014GowerLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir24/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams24/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Valerie Vaz25/06/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice25/06/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas25/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ian Lavery25/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner25/06/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Grahame Morris25/06/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil25/06/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bob Russell26/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon26/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Katy Clark30/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff30/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Tim Farron30/06/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale30/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty30/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley30/06/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Paul Flynn01/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran01/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/07/2014North DownIndependentSigned
John Leech02/07/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham02/07/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
David Anderson03/07/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
William McCrea03/07/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Williams07/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Champion08/07/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Jim McGovern08/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell10/07/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy01/09/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne01/09/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.