Parliament Website

Westminster Abbey Disabilities Protest

EDM number 197 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 30/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House congratulates Disabled People Against the Cuts (DPAC) and ILF Fight Back and Occupy London for their protest on 28 June 2014 occupying the grounds of Westminster Abbey and calling on the Government to halt its plans to abolish the Independent Living Fund in view of the impact this would have in undermining the potential of disabled people living independent and full lives within the community; regrets the refusal of the Dean of Westminster Abbey to even talk to the disabled protesters; but lends its support to DPAC and ILF Fightback's ongoing campaign to save the Independent Living Fund.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

John McDonnell30/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jim Shannon01/07/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale01/07/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty01/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan01/07/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Sheridan02/07/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Michael Weir02/07/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie02/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell02/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin02/07/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery03/07/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Mary Glindon03/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas07/07/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Winnick07/07/2014Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer07/07/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Hywel Williams08/07/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock08/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner08/07/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil10/07/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris10/07/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Diane Abbott14/07/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy01/09/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.